G.R. 13 (S)3

The Graduate Student Assembly The University of Texas at Austin

Resolution:	Introduced By:	Deepjyoti Deka Kyle Kampa Lauren Mangini Columbia Mishra Hilal Peker Shannon Rariden John Warden
Action Taken:	Certified: Michael Redding President, GSA	

In Support of Encouraging Teaching Professionals to Use Learning Management Systems

Summary: A resolution urging the Graduate School to work with faculty to increase LMS Usage

Whereas(1): Learning management systems (LMS) are an online resource that lets students access assignments, deadlines, syllabus, announcements, and online discussions

Whereas (2): Features of Blackboard, an LMS, such as individualized grade centers for students, file upload ability, and communication tools (including e-mail), are rated positively by users;

Whereas (3): The academic affairs committee has received complaints and concerns from graduates students regarding underutilization of LMS by faculty;

Whereas (4): An underutilization or non-utilization of a LMS decreases the ease of timely access to important classroom resources

Whereas (5): Utilization of a LMS increases the standardization of interactions between students and the course instructor, thereby enhancing fair and equal standing for all students in a course;

Therefore

Let it be

Resolved (1): The Graduate Student Assembly urges the Graduate School, the Center for Teaching and Learning, and the Information Technology Services to work with faculty so that they understand the benefits of using LMS and incorporate it into their lessons and classes;

Therefore

Let it be

Resolved (2): That this legislation be sent to the following people: Information Technology Services, Center for Teaching and Learning, Vice President and Provost Gretchen Ritter, Vice Provost Harrison Keller, Executive Vice-President and Provost Steven Leslie, Vice Provost and Interim Dean Judith Langlois, Graduate Studies Associate Dean Terry Kahn, Graduate Studies Associate Dean Marvin Hackert, Graduate Studies Assistant Dean Michelle Broadway, Chair Hunter March, Faculty Council Chair Martha Hilley, Academic Committee Chair Michael White, Dean Frederick Steiner, Dean Thomas Gilligan, Dean Roderick Hart, Dean Manuel Justiz, Dean Gregory Fenves, Dean Douglas Dempster, Dean Sharon Mosher, Dean Andrew Dillon, Dean Randy Diehl, Dean Linda Hicke, Interim Dean Alexa Stuifbergen, Dean Lynn Crismon, Dean Robert Hutchings